Welcome to my blog!

Hi, and welcome to my blog. This is my first post.

My name is Michael Griffin and amongst other things I’m a music educator. Through this blog, I hope to engage with other music learners and teachers and share ideas and good practice.

I teach at a school CBC in Adelaide, Australia. I started this position in May 2013, so it’s still pretty new to me. However, I’ve been teaching for quite a few years. Recently, I’ve been out of schools, giving talks in schools and at conferences, and writing music resource books.

Lately, I released my newest book ‘Learning Strategies for Musical Success’ – the title of this blog.

front cover final

In this book, I share lots of ideas that I’ve gathered over time, that can hopefully improve the chances of learning music more successfully. The premise of the book is that the greatest predictor of musical success is the quality and quantity of practice time. I’ll talk more about my ideas (which are mostly not my ideas!) in future posts. I’m also mad keen on choirs and learning in general. It’s always fascinated me how some people achieve so much more than others. Why is this?

So I invite you to join me in the learning journey of this blog. Please contribute your ideas and thoughts. And feel free to disagree with my ideas – I love a good debate!

Until next time,

Michael.

‘Learning Strategies for Musical Success’ by Michael Griffin
Amazon http://goo.gl/WrvX0r
Amazon UK http://goo.gl/dGOABq
Available on Kindle.
In Australia? Contact mdgriffin63@gmail.com for direct mail.

Public speaker, music education trainer, conductor and pianist. Author of 'Learning Strategies for Musical Success', 'Bumblebee: Rounds & Warm-ups for Choirs', and 'Modern Harmony Method'.

Posted in Music Education
4 comments on “Welcome to my blog!
  1. pianolearner says:

    I look forward to your posts 🙂

  2. kaylynnlowry says:

    Glad to see your blog! We can all learn from each other.

  3. mdgriffin63 says:

    Thanks to my first three followers! I look forward to learning from you, and sharing with you in this ‘music education’ community. The beaut thing about music teachers and learners is that we are all on the same side. We believe that musicality is a most wonderful human disposition, available to all, and we like to help other realise their musicality. My first (real) post will be on out shortly.

    One more thing -I am not sure how to acquire followers, so if you like what I have to say, and the direction the blog takes us, please recommend to others.
    Best wishes
    Michael

Leave a Reply

